





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Amy Lampe, Publicist (alampe@babson.edu)

Date: Thursday, May 16, 2013

2013 NEIBA ALL-NEW ENGLAND DIVISION III BASEBALL TEAMS ANNOUNCED

BABSON PARK, Mass. – The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) announced the 2013 Division III All-New England Teams today, featuring 52 athletes from across the region. University of Southern Maine senior Tucker White was named the NEIBA Division III Player of the Year after batting .434 and leading the Little East Conference with nine home runs, nine triples and 67 runs scored. He also led the conference with a .777 slugging percentage and 34 stolen bases while helping the Huskies win the Little East Championship. Southern Maine is currently participating in the NCAA Division III Regional Tournament where White hit a two-run homer in the team's opening 5-0 win over Daniel Webster.

Senior pitcher Matt Purnell from Eastern Connecticut State University earned the NEIBA Pitcher of the Year award after finishing the season with a 6-1 record, nine saves and a 1.63 ERA. He made 29 appearances on the mound for the Warriors, pitching 38.2 innings and allowing only 20 hits and seven earned runs, while striking out 51 batters against just five walks.

In his 28th season as head coach, Ed Flaherty was named the NEIBA Coach of the Year after leading the University of Southern Maine Huskies to a 33-7 regular season record. After winning a Little East Conference title, the Huskies are currently playing in the NCAA Division III Regional Tournament – their 20th regional appearance under Flaherty. Southern Maine is looking for its seventh regional championship and a trip to the Division III College World Series next week in Appleton, Wisconsin.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Tucker White, Southern Maine

PITCHER OF THE YEAR

Matt Purnell, Eastern Connecticut

COACH OF THE YEAR

Ed Flaherty, Southern Maine

FIRST TEAM

C - Dominic Di Sano, JR, Salve Regina

1B - Jake Cintolo, JR, Suffolk

2B – Nick Vita, JR, Keene State

3B - Nick Grady, SR, Southern Maine

3B - Chris Kucher, SR, Babson

SS – Sam Dexter, FR, Southern Maine

SS - Eric Jensen, SR, Wheaton

OF - Tucker White, SR, Southern Maine

OF – Conor Bierfeldt, SR, Western Connecticut

OF – Mike Cunningham, SR, Suffolk

OF - Shawn Smith, SR, Husson

P - Matt Purnell, SR, Eastern Connecticut

P – Logan Carmen, JR, Southern Maine

P - Bob Cook, SR, Amherst

P - Tyler Pogmore, JR, Roger Williams

SECOND TEAM

C - Matt Verrier, JR, Southern Maine

1B – Joe Papa, SR, Trinity

1B – Brett Holmgren, SR, Endicott

2B - Sean Riley, SR, Bridgewater State

2B – Harry Oringer, SO, Endicott

3B - Mike Rubino, SR, Western New England

SS – Bobby Rosano, SO, Mass. Maritime

OF - Jeff Schult, JR, Western New England

OF – Forrest Chadwick, JR, Southern Maine

OF – Zach Boyes, SR, Johnson and Wales

OF – Pat Thibodeau, JR, Husson **Continued in next column...**

Second Team, continued

P – Ryan Grant, JR, Wheaton

P - Derek Petty, SR, Coast Guard

P - Kevin Keith, JR, Colby Sawyer

P – Tyler Hitchcock, SR, Endicott

P - Greg Dubela, SR, Daniel Webster

DH - Chris Alberto, SR, Western Connecticut

UT – Rich Lizotte, SR, Daniel Webster

THIRD TEAM

C – Dan Gusovsky, SR, Wheaton

1B - Carlos Villoria, SR, UMaine Presque Isle

1B - Mike Pratt, SR, Saint Joseph's

2B – Matt Lavanchy, FR, Wheaton

2B – Anthony Pisani, SR, Southern Maine

3B - Kyle Brigham, SO, Daniel Webster

SS - Scott Staniewicz, SR, Tufts

SS – Alex Pezzuto, JR, Johnson and Wales

OF – Zach George, SO, Worcester State

OF – Darren Hartwell, SR, Williams

OF – Chris Stanley, SR, Suffolk

OF - Andrew Medeiros, SR, Westfield State

OF - Alex Almeida, SR, Trinity

P – Tyler Vieira, SR, Coast Guard

P – Frank Holbrook, SR, Wheaton

P - Oliver Van Zant, SR, Bowdoin

P - Tyler Shamas, FR, Mitchell

P - Tyler Laverriere, SR, Saint Joseph's

UT – Brian Harrington, SR, Gordon